Quick easy olive oil bread

Here’s a wee change from the usual photography posts. Whilst I was on holiday I decided that I hadn’t made bread for a while so I would make some, I didn’t and my holiday ended last Thursday.
Today I got my finger out and battered some bread together which has now been finished topped with some melted cheese, tomatoes, a bit of this and a bit of that.

I’m sure you’re all dying to know how I managed to knock these ingredients into one edible loaf. So I’m going to tell you all.

The Ingredients
500g of bread flour
7g of yeast
1 tsp of sugar
2 tsp of salt
2 tbsp of olive oil

How to bang all that stuff together
First you’ve got to chuck that flour into a mixing bowl, pretty easy so far yeah? Then chuck in the yeast you’ll want to mix that through the flour a bit. Bang in the salt and sugar and that’s part 1 out the way.

Now comes danger part one you’re gonna have to boil some water so watch you don’t burn yourself if you’re not confident get mummy to help.
Fill your measuring jug to 100ml with the boiling water and then top up to 300ml with cold water.
The water should be warm to touch not boiling though coz that does something to the yeast not sure what but Google can probably tell you. An explosive reaction would be cool but I don’t think that will happen.
Wooops! Nearly forgot throw the olive oil in at this part too.

Make a little well in your mixture chuck all that water in and get mixing that f**ker up! You can use your mitts(hands), a wooden fork/spoon or if you’re in the fortunate position of having one you could use your servant. Make sure you get all that flour off the bowl.

Now things start getting a little messy and you have to throw some flour on the worktop and start kneading that dough back and forward and get that baby nice and smooth. I actually completely avoid this step and just batter it around the bowl until I can’t be bothered anymore.

Now chuck that dough back in the bowl cover with a towel and leave for around an hour. When the dough is springy it’s ready. If you fancy it you can bang in a few extra ingredients, I’ve chucked in some olives in the past but you can use anything…………no not that you naughty people.

You’ll want to be giving it another bang about now get rid of any trapped air in the little bugger and then leave for about half an hour in its little covered bowl. Probably want to be heating your oven at this point.
240c or 220c for a fan assisted
What ever the equivalent in gas is say 8
Open fires just use your own judgment.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes and be amazed to see you lovely brown crisp looking loaf staring back at you. If you want to know if it’s done tap the bottom. Sound hollow? Yipppeeeee it’s done!

Now you’ll probably have read a few bread making recipes online that suggest leaving your dough someplace warm overnight. F**k that! Do you have a spare two days to make bread? Thought not, this way works quick and easy. Toast some up dip it in soup, chuck on some beans, you are now officially a baker your certificate is in the post!

CameraZOOM-20140104200754712

Here’s my effort not bad eh? You can almost smell it. I used wholemeal flour in this one tasted pretty good with a bit of butter slapped on it, might do a white loaf tomorrow all depends on the mood. You know what us cooks are like when we get a wee bit of white gets us right in the mood…….I’m kidding, I’m kidding don’t sue me!
Probably should have taken a photo of a slice dipping with cheese, tomatoes and a wee sprinkling of herbs but I didn’t so make your own and post the results.

Might make this a semi regular feature which I’m sure you’re all excited about.

Leave a Reply

